Performance Process

New Swiss Performance Now

img_3750_sophie-jung-2015_regionale_small

Sophie Jung, [@real, too] eh, co–?: “nah, cis. us!”, 2015. Photo: Philipp Hänger/Kunsthalle Basel

_sap2496_claudia-comte_small

Claudia Comte, Tornado Kit, 2014. Photo: Stefan Altenburger

news_swiss_performance_now_kunsthalle_basel_rh

Raphael Hefti, Performance Quick Fix Remix, 2015

florian-graf_ghost-light-light-house_1_web

Florian Graf, Still from video installation with wood, glass, paint and turning projector, Ghost Light Light House, 2012. Courtesy: the artist, Grieder Contemporary

stefan-karrer-ruin-video-still-cstefan-karrer-2016-03

Stefan Karrer, RUIN, 2016. Photo: Stefan Karrer

5

Jérôme Leuba, battlefield #54 / lovers, 2009-2015. Photo: Jérôme Leuba

13_kochscheidegger_kunsthalle_day4

Ariane Koch & Sarina Scheidegger, 13, 2016. Photo: Kambiz Shafei

balz-isler-in-order-to-be_kunsthalle-hamburg_by_timheuss

Balz Isler, In order to be, 2014. Photo: Tim Heuss / Kunsthaus Hamburg

masduraud_bellini2

Antoine Bellini & Lou Masduraud, exhibition view, Coil interior, Hard Hat, 2017 © Quentin Lannes

2

Lea Rüegg & Raphaela Grolimund, installation view, Wir über Kunst, 2016, Bachelor and Master Exhibition Institut Kunst HGK FHNW, Every Contact Leaves a Trace, Kunsthalle Basel, 2016. Photo: Christian Knörr

201703_performanceprocess_plakatf4_web_small

Poster for the exhibition, New Swiss Performance Now, Kunsthalle Basel, 2017. Design: Dan Solbach

«Kunst der Stunde»: Performance ist angekommen, Basellandschaftliche Zeitung (09/2017)
Müde Supermänner zum Jubiläum, Telebasel (09/2017)

Im Labor, Basler Zeitung (09/2017)

Continuing its tradition of showcasing emerging artists, Kunsthalle Basel’s New Swiss Performance Now concentrates on a new generation of artists who use performance in their practice. Bringing together both artists regularly making performance art and visual artists who use the medium when it best expresses an idea, the show is conceived as a “live exhibition” in which no documentation, scripts, props, or other traces of performances will be exhibited. Instead, for one month, and within special opening hours, numerous performances and a vibrant program of ephemeral actions and events will unfold on the upper floor of Kunsthalle Basel. Presenting newly commissioned and recent pieces that range from the spectacular to the almost imperceptible, the selected artists draw on techniques from theater, dance, installation, or film to make their fleeting, situation-oriented actions. Expanding on the incredibly rich history of performance art in Switzerland—so well documented and presented by this exceptional multi-institutional collaboration—Kunsthalle Basel’s program emphasizes the form’s vitality in the new and the now.

The exhibition’s duration is framed by two of Basel’s liveliest cultural events: It begins on January 19, 2018, with the 18th edition of Basel Museums Night (with more than thirty-five participating museums and institutions), and it ends with a grand finale on the night of February 18, 2018 and carries into the wee hours of February 19, when all of Basel turns off its lights at 4 am for the Morgestraich, the ritual beginning of carnival, the city’s own “collective performance.”

With Claudia Comte, Florian Graf, Raphael Hefti, Balz Isler, Florence Jung, Sophie Jung, Stefan Karrer, Ariane Koch & Sarina Scheidegger, Jérôme Leuba, Lou Masduraud & Antoine Bellini, Lea Rüegg & Raphaela Grolimund, Yves Scherer, Steven Schoch, Hannah Weinberger, Johannes Willi and others. The complete list of artists and specific performance-times will be published here.

Events

18.1.2018, 7 pm
Opening New Swiss Performance Now

19./20.1.2018, 7 pm – 2 am
Performance night New Swiss Performance Now, part of Basel Museum Night 2018

20.1.-17.2.2018, special opening hours
Performance events of New Swiss Performance Now

18./19.2.2018, 7 pm – 2 am
Grand finale of New Swiss Performance Now

Find more information on this collaboration, the individual programs of the institutions, interviews and short dialogues with the artists on: www.performanceprocessbasel.ch

Trailer PerformanceProcess – An Approach to Swiss Performance Art from 1960 to the Present

Performance Process

New Swiss Performance Now

Sophie Jung, [@real, too] eh, co–?: “nah, cis. us!”, 2015. Foto: Philipp Hänger / Kunsthalle Basel

Claudia Comte, Tornado Kit, 2014. Foto: Stefan Altenburger

Raphael Hefti, Quick Fix Remix, 2015, (Performance).

Mai-Thu Perret, Figures, 2014, (Performance),  Angelic Sisters, Chiesa di San Paolo Converso, Mailand, 2015.

Hannah Weinberger, Installationsansicht, On Seen, 2016,  Freymond Guth Fine Arts, Basel, 2016.

Florian Graf, Ghost Light Light House, 2012, (Standbild). Courtesy der Künstler und Grieder Contemporary

Jérôme Leuba, battlefield #54 / lovers, Casal Solleric, 2011. Courtesy der Künstler

Stefan Karrer, RUIN, 2016. Foto: Stefan Karrer

Romy Rüegger, I am the Wall, 2017, (Performance), Performatik17, 2017. Foto: Romy Rüegger. Courtesy die Künstlerin.

Johannes Willi, I Like The Universe And The Anthropocene Likes Me, 2017. Foto: Flavia Mielnik

Ariane Koch & Sarina Scheidegger, 13, 2016. Foto: Kambiz Shafei

Balz Isler, In order to be, 2014, (Performance), Kunsthaus Hamburg, 2014. Foto: Tim Heuss / Kunsthaus Hamburg

Ernestyna Orlowska, God Is A Girl, (Performance), Stadtgalerie Bern, 2017. Foto: David Aebi

PRICE (Mathias Ringgenberg), Where Do You Wanna Go Today (Variation 3), (Performance), 2017. Foto: Senta Simond

Marta Margnetti, Installationsansicht, Open House, Blick auf, Mind the Gap, 2017, Schwob-Haus c/o Stadtgalerie Bern, 2017. Foto: Marta Margnetti

Nils Amadeus Lange, Despicable, (Performance), 2018. Foto: James Bantone

Oppressed by Privilege / Privileged by Oppression, Aufstand der Privilegierten
, 2017, (Performance), Ausstellungsraum Klingental, 2017. Foto: Zlatko Mićić

Steven Schoch, Kontemplativ Arbeiten, 2014, (Performance), Kunst(Zeug)Haus, 2014. Foto: Andri Stadler

Garrett Nelson, Head Bimbo, 2017, (Performance), Lyles & King Gallery, New York, 2017. Courtesy der Künstler und  Lyles & King Gallery, New York.

Antoine Bellini & Lou Masduraud, Installationsansicht, Coil interior, Hard Hat, 2017. © Quentin Lannes

Ramaya Tegegne, Version #6: Mike Kelley, 2014, (Performance), Forde, Genf, 2014. Foto: Anaïs Defago

Yves Scherer, Nail Care, (Performance), Times Bar, Berlin, 2012. Courtesy der Künstler. Foto: Yves Scherer

Lea Rüegg & Raphaela Grolimund, Installationsansicht, Wir über Kunst, 2016, Bachelor und Master Ausstellung Institut Kunst HGK FHNW, Jede Berührung hinterlässt eine Spur, Kunsthalle Basel, 2016. Foto: Christian Knörr

Plakat zur Ausstellung, New Swiss Performance Now, Kunsthalle Basel, 2017. Gestaltung: Dan Solbach

Vernissage Do, 18. Januar 2018, 19 Uhr
Ausstellungstext und Veranstaltungen (PDF)
Performance-Zeiten kompakt (PDF)

Immer schön saufreundlich, Basellandschaftliche Zeitung (01/2018)
Frau Filipovic, was soll eigentlich Performancekunst?, Basellandschaftliche Zeitung (01/2018)
Auf zum Schlussstreich!, Programmzeitung (01/2018)
«Kunst der Stunde»: Performance ist angekommen, Basellandschaftliche Zeitung (09/2017)
Müde Supermänner zum Jubiläum, Telebasel (09/2017)
Im Labor, Basler Zeitung (09/2017)

Ganz der Tradition der Kunsthalle Basel folgend, junge, aufstrebende Künstlerinnen und Künstler vorzustellen, konzentriert sich New Swiss Performance Now auf eine neue Generation von Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die Performance als Teil ihrer Praxis begreifen. Die Ausstellung vereint sowohl Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die hauptsächlich mit Performance arbeiten, als auch jene, welche diese Kunstform dann einsetzen, wenn sie ihre Ideen am besten wiedergibt. Konzipiert als «Live-Ausstellung» werden hier keine Dokumentationen, Skripte, Requisiten oder andere Spuren von Performances ausgestellt. Stattdessen entfalten sich zahlreiche Performances und ein dynamisches Programm bestehend aus Veranstaltungen und flüchtigen Aktionen über einen Monat lang mit besonderen Öffnungszeiten im Obergeschoss der Kunsthalle Basel. Bei dieser Präsentation von jüngsten bis speziell neu entstandenen Arbeiten, die vom Spektakulären bis zum fast Unmerklichen reichen, bedienen sich die ausgewählten Künstlerinnen und Künstler für ihre flüchtigen, situationsorientierten Aktionen Techniken aus Theater, Tanz, Installation oder Film. In Erweiterung der unglaublich reichen Geschichte der Schweizer Performancekunst – die durch diese aussergewöhnliche, institutionsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit so gut dokumentiert und präsentiert wird – legt das Programm der Kunsthalle Basel gezielt den Fokus auf die Lebendigkeit von Performance im Neuen und im Jetzt.

Die Ausstellung wird flankiert von zwei der lebhaftesten, kulturellen Veranstaltungen in Basel: Sie beginnt mit der 18. Ausgabe der Museumsnacht Basel am 19. Januar 2018 (mit mehr als 35 teilnehmenden Museen und Institutionen) und endet mit einem grossen Finale in den Nachtstunden des 18. Februar 2018 bis hin in den frühen Morgen des 19. Februars, wenn um 4 Uhr morgens alle Lichter der Stadt für den Morgestraich gelöscht werden – dem rituellen Auftakt der Fasnacht, Basels ganz eigener «Kollektiv-Performance».

Mit Claudia Comte, Florian Graf, Raphael Hefti, Balz Isler, Florence Jung, Sophie Jung, Stefan Karrer, Ariane Koch & Sarina Scheidegger, Nils Amadeus Lange, Jérôme Leuba, Marta Margnetti, Lou Masduraud & Antoine Bellini, Garrett Nelson, Oppressed by Privilege / Privileged by Oppression, Ernestyna Orlowska, Mai-Thu Perret, PRICE (Mathias Ringgenberg), Lea Rüegg & Raphaela Grolimund, Romy Rüegger, Yves Scherer, Steven Schoch, Ramaya Tegegne, Hannah Weinberger, Johannes Willi. Hier finden Sie die Biografien der Künstlerinnen und Künstler.

Kuratiert von Elena Filipovic und Renate Wagner.

Die Ausstellung New Swiss Performance Now wird grosszügig unterstützt von Abteilung Kultur Basel-Stadt, Jubiläumsstiftung der Schweizerischen Mobiliar Genossenschaft und Pro Helvetia, Schweizer Kulturstiftung.